2014 - 2015 System Calendar
Board approves 2014 - 2015 school calendar
Posted on 01/08/2014

The 2014 – 2015 school calendar for Floyd County Schools was approved by the Floyd County Board of Education at the January meeting. The system worked with the system’s Teacher Advisory Group, Local School Governance Teams, employees and Rome City Schools to develop the 2014-2015 calendar.

The calendar has 179 school days as the board gets closer to its goal to once again have a 180 day school calendar. There are 89 days before Christmas break and 90 days after the break. The new calendar has three pre-planning days, a planning day after Christmas break and one post-planning day for a total of five teacher planning days. Reduced work days (furlough days) have been decreased to six for the 2014-2015 school year.

Key dates in the calendar include: First day of school, Friday, August 1; Fall Break, Monday - Friday, September 29 - October 3;  Thanksgiving Holiday, Monday - Friday, November 24 - 28; Christmas Break, Friday, December 19 - Monday, January 5; Winter Break, Friday, March 6 and Monday, March 9; Spring Break, Monday - Friday, April 20 - 24; Last day of school, Friday, May 22.

2014-2015 Calendar

Pre-Planning

Tuesday – Thursday, July 29, 30, 31

1st Day of School

Friday, August 1

Labor Day

Monday, September 1

Fall Break

September 29 – October 3

Thanksgiving Holiday

Monday –Friday, November 24 - 28

End 1st Semester

Thursday, December 18

Christmas Holidays

December 19 – January 5

Teacher Planning

Monday, January 5

Classes Resume

Tuesday, January 6

MLK Jr. Holiday

Monday, January 19

Winter Break

Friday and Monday, March 6, 9

Good Friday

Friday, April 3

Spring Break

Monday – Friday, April 20 - 24

Last Day of School

Friday, May 22

Memorial Day Holiday

Monday, May 25

Post Planning

Tuesday, May 26