2015 Certified Distinguished Service Awards
Gina Braden wins certified Employee of the Year Award
Posted on 05/08/2015
Gina Braden

A teacher is always a teacher.  That is certainly true with Gina Braden as she transitioned from the classroom to media specialist in Floyd County Schools.  Braden's quest to create a learning environment that attracts students has won her the certified Employee of the Year Award for Floyd County Schools.  Braden is the media specialist shared between Coosa High School and Model High School.  She was named the winner of the system award at the Tuesday, May 5 meeting of the Floyd County Board of Education. 

"Mrs. Braden turned our library into a place where students wanted to be," wrote the person submitting her for the award. "Soon after she became our librarian, we all began to notice that the students and teachers were constantly in the library.  Some were pursuing the book titles; some were classes working on projects. This dramatically affected our school climate in a positive way."

Braden has taught in Floyd County Schools since 1995 and has been a media specialist for the last five years.  She moved from teacher at Model Middle in 2010 to media specialist at Model High.  In 2013, she added Coosa High.

Two educators in Floyd County Schools are selected each year as Distinguished Service Employees of the Year.  One is selected from classified employees and one from certified employees.  Brian Worthington, PowerSchool student data system administrator, was selected as the classified winner for 2015.  The winners received a special framed certificate and a $250 gift card from the community business sponsor of the award. 

The Distinguished Service Award has been given by Floyd County Schools since 1994.  Distinguished Service Employees of the Year are selected from monthly winners during the school year.  Each month, two winners are announced at Floyd County Board of Education meetings.  The employees are nominated for the award by staff, students or parents.  The monthly winners are finalists for Employee of the Year.