2015 National Merit Scholarship
Model and Pepperell seniors are recognized by National Merit Scholarship
Posted on 09/26/2014
Braden Gilleland, a senior at Model High; and Tyler Dobson, a senior at Pepperell High School, have been named Commended Students in the National Merit Scholarship Program for 2015.  The two Floyd County students join approximately 34,000 other teens across the country to earn the recognition.  Commended Students are recognized for their exceptional academic promise.  Although the two will not continue in the 2015 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended students placed among the top five percent of more than 1.5 million students entering the competition by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test in 2013.

Gilleland has been active in academic and extra curricular programs at Model HIgh.  He is currently attending Middle Georgia State College as a part of the GAMES program.  GAMES stands for Georgia Academy of Aviation, Mathematics, Engineering and Science.  The program is designed so that scholastic students can earn both a high school diploma from their home high school and an associate degree from Middle Georgia State College.  Students have the option of remaining at Middle Georgia State College after high school to earn a bachelor's degree.  
Dobson has been involved in numerous activities while at Pepperell High School.  He is a candidate for graduation in the Honors Prep program.  Dobson performed in the PHS band, and in the PHS chorus.  He is active in theater and has performed in Rome Little Theatre productions. Dobson has maintained a 4.0 GPA while taking 15 Honors and Advanced Placement courses.  He earned a spot in the All-State Chorus during his high school career.

To be named a "Commended Student", a student must make a 201 on the basis of a national selection Index Score.  Participants who scored at or above the commended level, but below their state or selection unit's Semifinalist qualifying scores, are Commended Students. These students receive a Letter of Commendation from the National Scholarship Program.

Braden   Dobson
 Braden Gilleland, MHS  Tyler Dobson, PHS