Model High Science National Honors Society
Model High inducts seniors and juniors into new Science National Honors Society
Posted on 04/14/2014

“Fortunate is the one who understands the causes of things,” this is the  motto of the new Science National Honors Society at Model High School and a select group of seniors and juniors were fortunate to be in the first group of inductees.  The new members were welcomed during an induction ceremony in the Model High auditorium on Friday, April 4.  To be a candidate for induction, a student must qualify as a junior, have enrolled in at least one honors or upper-level  science class, maintain a 3.5 grade-point average across all science courses and an overall 3.0 GPA. This was the first induction for Model High so seniors were included.  In future years, only juniors will be inducted.

Model inducted 14 seniors in the Science National Honors Society.  The seniors, some of whom hold a leadership position, received the first Science NHS awards.  The senior officers are: Lindsey Brooke Hardy, president; Aleasha Hope Caldwell, vice-president; Lamya Mohammad Khateeb, induction specialist; Avani Vinold Patel, parliamentarian; Kristen Olivia Scoggins, project coordinator; Austin Carter Hinton, 2013-2014 Periodic Table Master.  Hardy plans to attend Young Harris College and major in psychology. Caldwell plans to attend Dalton State University and major in chemistry. Khateeb will attend Shorter University and major in biology. Patel will enroll at Dalton State University and major in biology and chemistry.  Scoggins plans to attend Young Harris College in the fall and major in meteorological science. Hinton will attend Georgia State University and pursue a degree in biochemical engineering. Other senior inductees and their college plans included: Anna Chapman Hunt, attend Georgia College and State University and major in food science; Jennifer Mercedes Cruz, enroll at the University of West Georgia and major in chemistry; Zachary Cain Price, attend Armstrong State University and major in informational science; David Austin Gore, enroll at Kennesaw State University and major in pre-engineering; Jennifer Elizabeth Lowry, has been accepted into nursing school at Dalton State University; Gisele Melony Mendoza, will enroll in Mercer University and major in biochemistry medicine; Joseph Michael Stewart, will attend Southern Polytechnic State University and major in mechatronic engineering; and Christian Edmund Stephens, is joining the Air Force where he will study engineering at a base university.  Seniors are awarded graduation recognition stoles to wear during graduation.

Model juniors inducted were: Hannah Goss, Emilie Parker, Leigha Sherman, Shannon Couey, Becca Blair, Dax Bishop, Kailey Calhoun, Emily Tyler, Laura Harrington, Jacob Stewart, Abby Wilson and Mutez Kahteeb.  These excellent science students received certificates and membership pins.

The Science National Honors Society goal is to encourage and recognize scientific and intellectual thought, advance student knowledge of classical and modern science, communicate with the scientific community, aid the civic community with its comprehension of science, encourage students to participate in community service, and encourage the pursuit of scientific knowledge that benefits all mankind.  There are currently 835 chapters of the Science National Honors Society across 44 states.

Mrs. Tema Hoskins is the Science National Honors Society advisor at Model High School.  Next year, the juniors inducted will be eligible for a scholarship funded by the Science National Honors Society.