FCS 2014 Academic Decathlon
Coosa High repeats as Academic Decathlon champion
Posted on 01/13/2014
Layton Hayes

The Coosa High Academic Decathlon team has repeated as champions in the Floyd County Schools Academic Decathlon competition. The annual competition was held at the Board of Education central office on Friday, January 10, 2014. Coosa finished strong in the competition to return to the winners circle for the 21st time in the last 25 years. Coosa High regained the champion title last year after a two-year absence from the podium.  Prior to that, Coosa had enjoyed an eight year run as school system champion. Layton Hayes of Coosa High was the highest scoring individual participant this year with 3880 total points. The theme for questions in this year's competition was World War I.

The Coosa High team members this year are: Sedona Baranchok, 
Zach Coffman, Shelby Dowdy, Layton Hayes, Nathan Johnson, Avery Jones, Dean Noren, Devin Rhodes, and Griffin Watson. Coosa alternates were: Andrew Dulaney, Emily Fickett, and Daniel Royer. The Coosa High team was led by coaches Randy Vice and Bill Daughtry.

Coosa High finished the day with 22,600 total points, Pepperell High finished second with a total of 21,880 and Model High came in third with 20,280.  As the first place finisher, Coosa High will now represent Floyd County Schools in the state competition in February. All school teams turned in strong performances this year as all three finishers scores topped last year's winning total. The solid final scores will make Pepperell and Model strong contenders for a Wild Card entry in to the Georgia finals.  Wild Card entries are selected based on team point totals from local competitions from across the state.  

The Academic Decathlon features three divisions of competition: Honors, Scholastic and Varsity. The academic contest features competitions in: language and literature, math, economics, social science, music, and art. The competition also features an oral Super Quiz contests. 

Team Winners
First Place:  Coosa High School
Second Place: Pepperell High School
Third Place: Model High School

Individual division placements were:

Top Individual Scorer
Layton Hayes, Coosa High School

First Place Overall (individual)
Honors - Layton Hayes, Coosa High
Scholastic -  Dean Noren, Coosa High

Varsity - Bill Crowe, Pepperell High


Second Place Overall (individual)

Honors -  Braden Gilliland, Model High
Scholastic - Deven Rhodes, Coosa High
Varsity -  Savannah Crabbe, Pepperell High

Third Place Overall (individual)

Honors -  Nathan Johnson, Coosa High 
Scholastic -  Will Jacobs, Arnuchee High
Varsity - Daniel Askew, Pepperell High 

Overall individual category high scorers in the competition were:

Language and Literature

Honors: Layton Hayes, Coosa High  

Scholastic:(tie) Cameron Sharpe, Pepperell High and Dean Noren, Coosa High

Varsity: Bill Crowe, Pepperell High 


Honors:  Zachary Jenkins, Model High
Scholastic: (tie) Emily Fickett, Coosa High and Tripp Bishop, Model High

Varsity: Shelby Dowdy, Coosa High  


HonorsLayton Hayes, Coosa High   

Scholastic: Graffton Flock, Pepperell High  

Varsity: (tie) Masumi Askew, Pepperell High and Josh Columbo, Model High

Social Science

Honors: Layton Hayes, Coosa High
Scholastic: Will Jacobs, Armuchee High 

Varsity: Savannah Crabbe, Pepperell High 


Honors: Nathan Johnson, Coosa High 

Scholastic: Tripp Bishop, Model High 

Varsity: Kaydee Spears, Model High 


Honors: Braden Gilleland, Model High 

Scholastic: (tie) Graffton Flock, Pepperell High and Samuel Patterson, Armuchee High

Varsity:Daniel Askew, Pepperell High     


Honors: Braden Gilliland, Model High
Scholastic: Deven Rhodes, Coosa High  

Varsity: Daniel Royer, Coosa High  

The mission of the United States Academic Decathlon is to promote learning and academic excellence among students of varying achievement levels by developing and providing multi-disciplinary academic competitions using USAD-based curricula.


CHS Acad. Decathlon team

Coosa HighFront Row, Left to Right :  Bill Daughtry, Shelby Dowdy, Sedona Baranchok, Devon Rhodes, Dean Noren, Andrew Dulaney, Zack Coffman, Emily Fickett.    Back Row, Left to Right: Nathan Johnson, Layton Hayes, Griffin Watson, Avery Jones, Daniel Royer, Randy Vice