GSBA 2013 Quality Board
Floyd County Board of Education recognized as a GSBA 2013 Quality Board
Posted on 01/09/2014

The Floyd County Board of Education has earned the Georgia School Boards Association’s (GSBA) 2013 Quality School Board recognition.    Superintendent Dr. Jeff McDaniel announced the designation at the board’s January 7 regular meeting. School boards given the ‘Quality’ designation by GSBA meet all requirements of state Board of Education training accreditation, and have adopted and are implementing a system strategic plan and meeting the highest standards for boards of education in Georgia.  This is the first year of the new GSBA recognition program.  Board members are: David Johnson, chairman; Terry Williamson, vice-chairman; Brian Barcomb; George Bevels; and Dr. David Cox. 

Floyd’s school board has typically held the highest professional distinctions offered by GSBA.  The board has been recognized as a Board of Distinction since 2003, the highest designation for a Georgia board in the previous recognition by GSBA.
  “I truly appreciate the work of our board members and their commitment to education and to the children and families in Floyd County,” stated Superintendent McDaniel.  “We are fortunate to have this dedicated board, elected by the citizens of our community, to ensure that our children are provided with a quality public education. The board is committed to the goal of ensuring our school system, from the earliest grades to high school, produce quality graduates prepared for a quality life.”  

The GSBA recognition program was designed to showcase best practices in school governance and leadership.  GSBA recognizes good school board governance to foster educational community cultures in order to advance student learning and achievement.  

The Floyd County Board of Education met or exceeded the criteria set forth by GSBA to earn this honor of a 2013 Quality Board.   The GSBA Board recognition program is a three-year, three tiered program beginning with the Quality Board status.   The criteria may be viewed on the GSBA website.

The GSBA Governance Team Recognition Program was developed by Georgia superintendents and board members based on the state board of education’s standards for effective governance to recognize exemplary leadership. 

In 1998, the Georgia School Boards Association was one of the first school board associations in the nation to develop a program of standards for local boards of education.

Photo: Left to right - Terry Williamson, Dr. David Cox, George Bevels, David Johnson, Brian Barcomb.